SJVLS is a Joint Powers Authority agency established under the California Library Services Act (CLSA) on behalf of 10 member library jurisdictions. The County of Fresno acts as fiscal agent for the System. Current membership includes:

  • Coalinga-Huron Library District
  • Fresno County Library
  • Kern County Library
  • Kings County Library
  • Madera County Library
  • Mariposa County Library
  • Merced County Library
  • Porterville Public Library
  • Tulare County Library
  • Tulare Public Library


As set forth in the Joint Powers Agreement, SJVLS is governed by an Administrative Council made up of the 10 directors. They operate under the authority of the Joint Powers Agreement and current by-laws.  The Council is supported by an Automation Committee, Electronic Resources Committee, and citizen's Advisory Board. Meetings of SJVLS Councils and Committees are subject to the Brown Act. Funding for SJVLS comes from member library contributions and the State of California through CLSA Programs.

Committee rosters and meeting information

Key governing documents and policies

The documents below are the primary documents governing SJVLS and directing its services. Additional policies are available upon request to the SJVLS Administrative Librarian.